A Walden Contemplation

img_2571

My last visit to Walden for 2016 was on Boxing Day, December 26 when, I have to admit I was surprised to find the pond had started to ice over. Perhaps I have amnesia for the seasons these days (I certainly think 2016 has raced toward its end,) for I thought as I walked down the ramp that it was rather premature. But perhaps it is not. These days the pond does not ice completely until around the second week of January.

As my sister from Australia is visiting with her family we went into the visitors center before beginning our walk. We read Thoreau’s journal entry from December 28, 1856.

“Walden completely frozen over again last night.” (p.199 The Walden Fishermen).

I guess things have changed over the last 150 years or so!

I thought I’d share with you a few of photos from our walk. I’m not sure what’s happened since the 26th. I’m now looking out on a winter wonderland over the treetops of Stowe Vermont.

img_8895

img_8893

img_8890

Happy New Year and Much Gratitude to you my Readers for continuing to support my blog.

May we all have a Peaceful and Prosperous 2017 and continue to learn to work together in Harmony and with Love and Understanding of our Differences.

Liz

Leave a Reply

