The Movement of Water

This daughter:

[For Kari …. on leaving for Oberlin Conservatory and the beginning of an exciting new musical adventure]

IMG_7717

Lies stretched out before me on the sand – beyond her the water.
A fine tip point of a pencil draws a line across it in shadows of light.

It illuminates the morning stillness.

She comments how peaceful this place is that I come to each morning.

I am happy she has come this morning.

This child now grown about to launch out on her own – lingers.
The light beyond her dances back and forth.
Just as she does the dance of growing up and away.
And back again.

“Have a nice swim mama,” she says as I head to the water.
I smile and kiss her on the forehead

Taking her love with me into the pond.

Leave a Reply

