Respite

Bringing up a seventeen year old
who has lost half her self
and now spends her birthday alone
for the first time

IMG_2795

Considering herself almost adult
but still a child

IMG_2796

How do I manage the needs
of adult
of child
of loss and grief?

IMG_2797
Sometimes I crave the guidance
her angel sister twin might provide
Not the daughter sister
but the angel
who was herself a child
An adult
too early

IMG_2798

Bearing the torment of disease
Too far before her time should be

How can I do this?
This mothering
This negotiating
with my adult child

IMG_2801

How can I think what is right?
To nourish to support her
in her loss

IMG_2802

How can I even think?
When the grief of a mother
bearing children
two on one day
and only now one present to grieve

IMG_2805

How can I?

IMG_2806

But by coming to Walden
and walking
silent in the snowy air
to find the place my other child adult angel has gone into

IMG_2807

To let the soft flakes of nothingness
drift onto my face
and in my hair

IMG_2808

Leave a Reply

