Breath.

We take the breath for granted

 

IMG_1280

Even the great sages
remind us to breathe
in
and out
to listen to the breath…

Do they really understand
what it must be like to take that next
in?

I breathe
The rhythm of the pond is my bellow
The next
in
and out
Push
and pull

My arms over
and under her skin
Just as my lungs pull air
in
and push it out
again
into the world of breath

In and
out
Pull and
push

I watch
my daughter
eyes closed
hug an oxygen mask
Focusing on the breath

Only those that struggle
with breath
know what it is truly about

In and
out
Pull and
push

My arms over Walden’s skin
Just as my arms over her struggles
Trying to take away the pain
that lies beneath.

IMG_1284

One thought on “Breath.

  1. Your words are SO beautiful and SO inspiring. I’m actually working on a presentation about Walden & HDT at the Thoreau Annual Gathering next week and I’d love for you to participate. Please contact me offline at my email.

    Like

Leave a Reply

