Spreading the Word from Walden

liebster-blog-awardOn Friday I was nominated for the Liebster Award!!!           which, as I can make out, (credits and thanks to my nominee) swim.bike.read. is the bloggers way to say ‘tag, you’re it’ to help bring readers to a relatively new blog page which isn’t getting a lot of traffic.

A big thank you to swim.bike.read. You have!     And my apologies for being so slow at responding…fortunately this is not a race…my (tri)racing days are long past.

Thank you also then, for your patience.

However, in the spirit of the award, I would like to fulfill the commitment and try to provide some facts about myself, and ask some questions of other bloggers (with less than 200 followers) that I am asked to nominate and reference in my blog, and answer the questions swim.bike.read. has asked of me.

I may not make the requisite eleven entries in each category as, alas, I have not yet in my blogging world made that many connections myself.

Where to start…

I was walking around Walden Sunday late morning thinking about all this.

Here’s the result.

Seeing the ice covering a large part of Walden pond has a strange effect on me. Something sinks in the pit of my stomach. Yet I think I’ve accepted the ‘not swimming for a few months.’ Does this mean I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder?

IMG_5261

When I see a kid thrashing the ice with a stick, and hear him reply (to his parents, I presume) “I’m busy smashing” … My mind translates that into ‘trying to defy nature‘ and I remember the time I swam in the corridors of water surrounded by ice as Walden was freezing during the January of 2005. Did I think I could ‘defy nature then?’

I love walking, the silence of the woods after snow, and I am fascinated by the sound of wind on ice, (that’s another story). I get claustrophobic if I can’t get outside.

I was born and grew up in Sydney Australia so I am not used to this ‘winter stuff’. All being well with my kids (college, remission from Leukemia,) I intend to return to live there within the next 6-7 years. (Maybe not Sydney though. I have a hankering for the bush.)

Why am I slow at getting to my blog? I co-parent three teenagers, (fact one) volunteer at the Animal Rescue League (fact two) recently bought one of the dogs home with me (fact three) and work in a local library (fact four).

That’s enough about me…except…for the questions I am asked to answer…but first here are some blogs I would like to nominate, and sorry, there are not eleven, as I have not fossicked (apparently this is an Australian word…meaning rummaged) enough to find eleven yet!

Backwoods Walking

Thoreau’s Sukkah at Walden Pond

Notes of a Shaman Student

Starrystez

Like any award nomination, there are rules.  I’ll state the rules cited by my nominator (and her nominator), because cutting and pasting is a lot easier than thinking and typing:

  1. Add the award icon to your blog
  2. Link to your nominator to say thank you
  3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves 
  4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you and create 11 questions for your nominations to answer
  5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with fewer than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

And as for the questions…swim.bike.read. asked of me

my favorite food, i don’t really have one, sorry, but if we are talking over time (i turn 55 next week) i’d have to say, vegemite!

the author i am feeling most akin to at the moment…Lidia Yuknavitch,The Chronology of Water

vivd childhood memory…riding my tricycle along a dirt road under the gum trees next to the creek at the back of my house with my big brother

hot/cold preference….hot from the neck down (arthritis) cold for my head (migraines)

which leg in a tri relay…the swim these days

2013 goal….health….maintaining it

walk around brushing teeth…these days i try to combine PT exercises with teeth cleaning…multi tasking…..not the best mindfulness, but gets tasks done

dogs or cats….i do like cats, but i have a history with dogs

house hold chore i abhor….vacuuming

perfect day…over 74 degrees fahrenheit, sleep until i wake, coffee, fresh air, a swim, the sun on my back, some quiet time, a good book, some time with friends (four footed and others)

how often do i get it..sometimes on a Sunday, only ever in the warmer months though!

and here are some questions for my nominees

why did you start blogging?

favorite season?

favorite pastime in winter?

and summer?

country you would most like to travel to?

place in the US you would like to visit most?

books you like to read?

your goal for 2013?

your perfect day?

how often can you make it happen?

My apologies for not making eleven questions as the award requires, and then for poaching some of swim.bike.read.’s, but they were good questions!!!

Leave a Reply

